Last Days

I have been so fortunate to have a church job since 1982.  Initially, I was hired as a janitor to clean the church and keep the floors shiny and spotless.  When the choir director became sick due to cancer, I became the choir director in 1985.  I have been directing choirs consistently since that time.  God has been good, and blessed me with many opportunities.

One opportunity I thank God for in my career of choir directing is my time with First United Methodist Church in Columbia.  I started January 1998.  Dr. Keith Moore left things in very good shape, so the start of my time with Columbia First was fertile soil for my efforts with the choirs and church folk.  Now, it is my turn to leave things in good shape for the next choir director.  I pray that I have cultivated the soil during my time as choir director so that the next leader will reap an even greater harvest than I was able to reap.  I have no regrets.  I did the best I could with what I knew, had the talent to do, and the situations and resources I was given to work.  God often took my worst and made the best for the church.

So, I will leave my dream job on Sunday, June 10 for another opportunity to serve.  I have loved my time with “my people” at Columbia First.  God was in the journey in 1998, and God is in the journey in 2012.  I will be the pastor of St. Luke United Methodist at the end of June.  I look forward to learning to love them as much as I have grown to love those at Columbia First.  I’m in the “last days” of my tenure as Director of Music at Columbia First.  It will be hard to say goodbye or see you later.  But, “last days” at one place mean “first days” at another.  The hymn states it best:

O God our help in ages past, our hope for years to come.  Our shelter from the stormy blast and our eternal home.

~ by sing2preach on June 5, 2012.

3 Responses to “Last Days”

  1. You will do very well. God has led you where He needs you.

  2. I know exactly how you feel. It was so hard to say goodbye to my students. But moving to Columbia is a good move. I am so excited to get started at my new job and meet all the new students that will inspire me.

  3. St. Luke will be extremely blessed to have you. I was so busy resenting my new situation with Dad’s new job that I perhaps missed some good things there. However, I came away with very fond memories of St. Luke and some really great people. Sadly, there are a few you won’t meet here; I’m sure you love those who took their places.
    I’m happy for you.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,795 other followers

